Nominations for EFA Awards Announced

The nominations for the 36th European Film Academy Awards have been announced, and several films from ZFF’s program are also in the running. The film Anatomy of a Fall holds the absolute record with four nominations: the French drama is nominated for Best European Film, Justine Triet is in the running for Best European Director, Triet and Arthur Harari are nominated for Best European Screenwriters, while Sandra Huller is nominated for Best European Actress. Nominated in the same category of “European Oscars” are actresses Leonie Benesch (The Teachers’ Lounge) and Mia McKenna Bruce (How to Have Sex).

Among the nominated for Best European Actor is Thomas Schubert for Christian Petzold’s Afire, and İlker Çatak and Johannes Duncker are nominated for Best European Screenwriter for The Teachers’ Lounge. Smoke Sauna Sisterhood is nominated for Best European Documentary. In the category of European Discovery – Prix Fipresci, the nominees are 20,000 Species of Bees by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren, How to Have Sex by Molly Manning Walker, and Safe Place by Juraj Lerotić, who won the Special Jury Award at ZFF last year.

The winners will be announced on 9 December at the award ceremony in Berlin, and more information on the nominees can be found here.